Hosts Kilgraston lead by example in Schools Equestrian Championships


The annual Scottish Schools Equestrian Championships, hosted by Kilgraston and sponsored by Knight Frank, was attended by almost 150 competitors from 19 schools. Held for the first time at Highfield Equestrian Centre at Howe, Fife, tests were held in Dressage, Showjumping and Combined Training classes across three age groups.

Hosts Kilgraston led by example, with the Kilgraston 1 team (Jemima Cross, Tess Wylie, Emma Leslie and Kyla Grieve) winning the Combined Training in class 1 (12 years and under). In the same class the Kilgraston 2 team (Millie Wilson, Kyla Grieve, Eilidh McPherson and Connie Wang) came 4th overall. Second place was taken by Morebattle Primary, and third place by Ardvreck. In the Individual Dressage sections Jemima Cross (Kilgraston) won section A and Emma Leslie (Kilgraston) won section B, with Jemima also winning the Individual Combined Training.

The Kilgraston 1 team (Jemima Cross, Tess Wylie, Emma Leslie and Kyla Grieve) won the Combined Training in class 1, picture by Adrian Sinclair Photography

In Class 2 (14 years and under), the Kilgraston competitors triumphed again, with Zoe Niven, Bernadette McElhinney and Anna Smallwood  taking first place and the trophy for the overall Combined Training. Bernadette McElhinney (Kilgraston) also won her section of the dressage, with Anna Smallwood (Kilgraston) second and Zoe Niven (Kilgraston) third. The second place in Combined Training was awarded to Glasgow Academy, with Kelso High School in third.

Kilgraston’s Zoe Niven, Bernadette McElhinney and Anna Smallwoodwon won the trophy for overall combined training, picture by Adrian Sinclair Photography

Class 3 (15 years and over) was a strongly contended class with a very challenging show jumping course. The Jenny Storer cup for best Individual Show Jumping in class 3 was awarded to Sarah Cheape from Kilgraston, who rode a fantastic round to win the individual Show Jumping title. The Combined Training class was won by Strathallan, with Bell Baxter High School in second and Strathallan’s B team taking third place. The Team Dressage was won by George Heriot’s School, and the Team Show Jumping by the A team from Strathallan.

Posted in